February Webinar

Our educational Webinars are held monthly on the Third Wednesday of each month from 6:30 – 7:30 pm Mountain Time.  These programs are a benefit of membership and AIA members receive email notifications with call-in information.. Each program is rich with vital information and educational topics provided by experts in aromatherapy and related healthcare fields and are interactive with Q&A.  If you are interested in continuing education credit, read about it below.

To become a member and enjoy many benefits such as Webinars - Click Here to Join Now  or call 1-877-531-6377 (toll free) or 303-531-6377 for more information. 

A Conversation About the Devil's Club Plant w/Mark Dundore 

February 17, 2021

5:30pm PST 6:30pm MST 7:30 pm CST 8:30pm EST

Mark Dundore is a Juneau resident and member of the Shangukeidi Eagle clan of Klukwan, Alaska.  He is the first person to create essential oil from devil’s club in the state of Alaska and continues to study and learn about sustainable harvesting and research therapeutic benefits of the essential oil.  A citizen scientist and inventor, he created unique processing equipment and built and customized a lab dedicated to devil’s club essential oil.

This seminar will be a conversation about the devil’s club plant, the historical uses, and how the production of the essential oil began in Alaska. Mark will talk about best practices and sustainability of how to distill the plant correctly, the chemical profile of the essential oil, research on the therapeutic actions and toxicology, research on the potential medicinal uses of the essential oil and hydrosol, and next steps.

 

 

Continuing Education

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) credit:
There are two ways to earn CPD credit for watching a webinar.

1. You may earn 1 CPD credit for watching a live webinar. Instructions on how to earn the CPD credit will be given during the webinar.

2. You may earn 1 CPD credit by watching an MP4 recording of a webinar and submitting a 100-word summary of the program to AIA. Be sure to include your name, address, and title of the program on your summary.  Each summary must be submitted on a separate document.

Please mail your webinar summary to AIA or email your summary on a word document to [email protected].  If you have more questions, please call the AIA office at 303-531-6377 or 1-877-531-6377.